Saturday, May 31, 2014

Download A Cradle Song by Celtic Angel on iTunes

A Cradle Song, William Butler Yeats sung by Celtic Angel

  Click here to Download A Cradle Song by Celtic Angel on iTunes

The angels are stooping
Above your bed;
They weary of trooping
With the whimpering dead.

I sigh that kiss you,
For I must own
That I shall miss you
When you have grown.

God's laughing in Heaven
To see you so good;
The Sailing Seven
Are gay with His mood.

Yeats stands over the cradle of an infant, noting that the angels, sick of the dead, are also there. God is pleased in heaven, as are the "Sailing Seven" to see such a well-behaved infant. Yeats kisses the infant, sad because he knows that he will miss the baby as it grows up.

This sweet, simple poem takes a much more traditional, rhyming form than most of Yeats's work. Rather than being a free-form lyrical poem, it is three stanzas of four lines each, rhyming in the pattern ABAB CDCD EFEF. Each line is two iambs.

The "sailing seven" refers to either the planets, or the seven stars of the Pleiades. They link the child to a cosmic order, suggesting that an infants pleasure not only affects human beings, but resonates with the order of the universe as a whole.

Friday, May 30, 2014

Celtic Hits by Celtic Angel available on iTunes

 Celtic Hits by Celtic Angel available on iTunes

 Celtic Hits is now available now 

1.     The Wild Mountain Thyme  3:08              CALW31400001    
2.     An Eriskay Love Lilt  2:29                        CALW31400002
3.     Danny Boy  3:15                                  CALW31400003
4.     Mairi’s Wedding  2:23                        CALW31400004
5.     Scotland the Brave  3:47                        CALW31400005
6.     Skye Boat Song  3:57                        CALW31400006
7.     The Road to the Isles  2:57              CALW31400007
8.     The Dark Island  4:43                        CALW31400008
9.     A Cradle Song  4:17                        CALW31400009
10.  Amazing Grace  5:07                        CALW31400010
11.  Baby Eyes  3:35                                  CALW31400011
12.  Will Ye No Come Back  3:39              CALW31400012
13.  A Scottish Soldier  3:28                     CALW31400013
14.  The Isle of Innisfree  3:57                        CALW31400014
15.  Loch Lomond  2:48                                  CALW31400015
16.  Driftwood  4:15                                  CALW31400016

Total Time:          57:45
 Album Title:  Celtic Hits
 Artist:  Celtic Angel
 Bar Code UPC:  628855001692
 Genre:  Celtic, Folk, World, Singer Songwriter, Alternative

Celtic Hits, celtic Angel Cd on iTunes